National Board of Review awards preview: Don’t count on it for 2019 Oscar predictions

Be warned: the National Board of Review, which announces its winners on Tuesday Nov. 27, has a spotty record at crystal-balling the Academy Awards. Last year, the Nbr didn’t even include the eventual Best Picture winner, “The Shape of Water,” in the Top 10

The Nbr went all in on Steven Spielberg‘s docudrama “The Post,” which won Best Picture and the lead acting awards for Meryl Streep and Tom Hanks. Greta Gerwig won the Best Director prize for her solo helming effort, “Lady Bird,” which also featured a winning supporting turn by Laurie Metcalf.

Willem Dafoe (“The Florida Project”) won Best Supporting Actor; writer/director Paul Thomas Anderson won for his original screenplay for “Phantom Thread”; Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber won the adapted screenplay award for “The Disaster Artist”; the cast of “Get Out” claimed the Best Ensemble prize; and Timothee Chalamet and Original Screenplay (Kenneth Lonergan) — but
See full article at Gold Derby »

Similar News

Recently Viewed