262 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
If this was an apology for the Emoji Movie, then apology accepted!
sirwillisiv14 December 2018
I have to say, and no pun-intended: Into the Spider-Verse is a total marvel, all the way down to its stylish and diverse styles of animation to its bold, sophisticated storytelling. The visuals are absolutely enchanting. Fast, colorful, and distinct. Something Sony Animation always nails is how each character has a pronounced look and movement. With the various kinds of Spider-Men and Marvel villains featured in this story, the animators went all out to give them a unique identity. Notably in this case are Spider-Man Noir, Peni Parker, and Spider-Ham. Noir, whose universe takes place in 1930s New York, boasts a dark, shadowy vibe similar to Sin City, Peni Parker has a bubbly anime look, and Spider-Ham is a bouncy, eccentric cartoon character who takes full advantage of his absurd existence to deliver some of the film's best laughs. Even with these different identities, the film slows down to balance their character in a serious nature. Heck, one of the most hard-hitting, poignant lines is spoken by Spider-Ham, the breakout comedic relief.

Miles and a majority of characters share the same art style. I really enjoy the blend of 3D models with traditional 2D movement. It's very appealing to watch and it seamlessly matches the comic book theme. I also appreciate the stylization of certain villains. Kingpin is a character I don't think was portrayed accurately outside of the comics, just appearing as a generic, heavy-set bald brute, when he's really an enormous, borderline non-human tank. Kingpin looks excellent in this film, with his titanic body and small head with an intimidating grimace. He's a powerful force and a legitimately scary antagonist. Doc Ock is another example, portrayed as a brilliant, but outlandish female scientist with a psychotic passion for villainy. I didn't feel like I needed to know more about her character, she was such a fun villainess to watch. She really added to the suspense in some action sequences.

I really loved the story. I thought it was rich with charm and thrills. Granted, I did notice some familiar elements that are done to death in superhero fiction and the animation canon alike, such as surprise villain reveals and major character deaths that were obviously seen coming, and I certainly wish some characters (espeically Miles' uncle) had more screentime, but there's one fact that overshadows these flaws for me: The writing is mature. First of all, it's a Sony Animation product. If you look at this company's past work, some of it is very soulless with its marketing and panders to its audience with incessant pop culture references and juvenile comedy. Into the Spider-Verse is a welcome departure. Passion and integrity was put into this project. The writing is very grounded and treats its audience like people who want to see a genuinely captivating flick. Heck, the first third of the film is somewhat slow and nonchalant, almost like an arthouse film. I've never had such a cool, yet off-beat and engaged feeling while watching an animated film on the big screen. Nothing was forced, nothing felt out-of-place, nothing took me out of immersion. The tone and pacing is very adult, even when something excessively goofy like Spider-Ham is on-screen. It's like the Marvel Cinematic Universe. It can be dark and distressing, but lighthearted and amusing. There's a perfect balance and it never sacrifices integrity just to appeal to a niche audience. Well...there is that after-credits scene, but it was quite hilarious, so I let it pass.

That's the most I can say without spoiling a lot of the film. I want you to see this absolute marvel with your own eyes. To close, Into the Spider-Verse is everything I hoped it would be. This is a game-changer for both superhero filmmaking and animation altogether. Sleek, colorful, funny, emotional, frenetic. This film skillfully balances all these elements. There is never a moment that felt forced, it never talks down to the audience. It's a mature and stylish take on the Spider-Man mythos, and perhaps the best big-screen Spidey picture to date with some of the best animated visuals you'll ever see. I didn't have a single issue with this film. I was dazzled and moved throughout. Sony Animation, if this was your apology for The Emoji Movie, then apology goddamn accepted. Massive bravo!
128 out of 149 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Spidey Movie That Works In Multiple Dimensions
Cizzurp21514 December 2018
Visually stunning. Great storyline. Great cast. Amazing soundtrack. Tear jerking cameo. Pop culture post credit scene of the decade. Thank you Marvel and Sony for making a Spidey movie everyone can love.
111 out of 138 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Giving Infinity war a run for it's money
vancewinstead15 December 2018
This movie was absolutely incredible. From the animation, to the storytelling, to the characters this movie is completely one of a kind. It is easily the best looking animated movie of the year (no surprise there), but what really caught me off guard was the story they were able to tell in such a short amount of time. Each character has their own distinct personality and is given their own separate characterization without making the movie feel bloated. I knew I would end up liking this movie, but this movie has completely exceeded my expectations. If you enjoy superheros or animation you should 100% definitely watch it in a theater.
45 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best animated film of 2018
eashanvad13 December 2018
I had high expectations for this movie and it didn't fail to meet them, this film has great animation, great humour, emotion, and heart. It has pretty much everything people would want for an animated movie.
54 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
This different approach of animation is simply mind blowing
lahejarishabh15 December 2018
There have been so many spiderman films, each of which was cut off from a sequel and rebooted over and over. However, this could alone stand out to be a much better spiderman film in comparison to them all. Into the spiderverse takes you on a sci-fi adventure of multiverse, a spiderman film we have all been waiting for.

The animation alone stands out to be the best feature about this film. This new style of comic book animation is top notch and a must watch especially for comic book lovers. The efforts taken in creating and rendering this film was worth it. The film is innundated with so much of high quality design, byzantine animation, one can't take their eyes off the screen and even afford to miss a scene.

Even though it has a small run time to it, as most animated films do, this film offers a good character development and good storyline which is unpredictable at times making you shout out "wow" especially if you are a spiderman geek.

There is an adequate amount of humor. The humor is not forced at all, it has good one liners that makes you enjoy the film from the very beginning. Into the spiderverse is a fun, fresh take on the spiderman story filled with excellent quality content, brilliant animation, lots of humor and exciting action sequences.
42 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Captures Your Attention From The Get Go!
rannynm12 December 2018
What would you do if you could be a superhero? What if you have no choice? From the very beginning, Spider-Man: Into the Spicer-Verse is very energetic and captures your attention. This animated film has impressive visuals. The music creates a fantastic rhythm. And you just want to watch more.

The story follows a high school student named Miles Morales, who just changed school. He goes into an abandoned subway station with his uncle Erin and gets bitten by a radioactive spider. Ever since that day, Miles starts sticking to everything he touches. Then, he meets Spider-Man (Peter Parker), teams up with some friends from the same dimension and they attempt to save the world from the villain Kingoin.

The story is very original and makes the impossible possible. It takes all the abilities of Spider-Man to far and beyond with its action scenes. The film also shows a very real family atmosphere and the humor is smart. I love the non-traditional characters and how they embrace diversity. And yes! Spider-Man is Latino and surely does speak Spanish! There are also some fun new characters.

With this film, Marvel has created a film that celebrates comics, film and visual arts. Of course, it celebrates Spider-Man and makes this super hero relevant and contemporary. It is absolutely eye-poppingly beautiful and really pushes the boundaries of the genre with its colors, textures and camera movements. There are several different forms of animation in one film. You feel as if you are actually reading a comic book or the comic book is coming to life.

Naturally, the film does a very touching tribute to genius Stan Lee. I feel the filmmakers took some risks bringing new ideas to this iconic character which as been adored for over 50 years. The result is a must-see family movie that is even more appealing to new generations. I also love how this film is animated. It's so different. I've never seen a film like this one. I think it's very unique. Be sure to stay after the credits to see something very special, including another set of credits at the very end.

This film sets a new era in animated movies. I recommend it for ages 5 to 18, as well as adults. I give it 5 out of 5 stars and include it in my Oscar predictions as a very possible winner. This is the film parents will love their kids to watch and kids will enjoy in many different ways.

With great power comes great responsibility and we all can be heroes. This is the idea behind Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse - inclusion for all in the vast universe and the idea that we can all be heroes by making the right choices and doing our best helping each other in our everyday life.

Reviewed by Zoe C., KIDS FIRST! Film Critic. For more reviews by youth, visit kidsfirst dot org.
50 out of 79 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazining animation-great story-
reesepaul6 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I was very lucky as my son and I just got to see the movie before it comes out. I was very impressed. The animation work alone was some of the most impressive work I have ever seen. Thencolorations, and fluidity of movement made a comic book come to life as a motion picture. Props to the soundtrack it was great edgy New York hip Hop in places, heck even works St. Elmo's fire in. I was surprised at the excellent humor throughout.

Technically as an older male my knowledge of Spider Man was confined to the classic Peter Parker line. I didn't know of this multiverse. But seeing is believing and it all made sense in the film. I had no idea Spider Ham existed but you will love his parts.

I don't and won't spoil the story line but as you can imagine good vs bad many excellent fight scenes. Dr. OC and Kingpin battle the several spider people. If you like animated movies, Marvel comics, go see this movie FYI stay all the way through the credits for a very funny finale.
107 out of 182 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This movie is not over hyped!
benribble15 December 2018
Going into this I had high hopes but, was afraid It might not be as good as the hype says But, damn... This movie is underhyped. I loved every second of it. The animation was gorgeous, the characters were so fun and the soundtrack, flawless. The twists, you never see coming and don't even get me started on how beautiful the end fight scene was. This film is the best animated film of 2018 and in my opinion, the best film of 2018 definitely worth seeing!
21 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
WAYYY Better Than Expected
lordofawesomeness-103857 December 2018
This movie was honestly much, MUCH better than I expected it to be. Even all the trailers combined do not do it justice. It's thrilling, emotional, and hilarious. Its really a masterpiece in my eyes. One of my favorite movies of the year!
86 out of 153 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Spider-Man movie by far!!!
dfisher-8528114 December 2018
I hardly post reviews but, I Just watched Spider-Man Into the Spider-Verse and OMG that is by far in my opinion the best Spider-Man movie ever!!! The story was so well written, the characters were awesome, the music was actually awesome, and OMG the art style they chose for this movie was so amazing and it was like watching a living comic book!!! Also, you know how sometimes superheros usually just come off as superheros and not like actual people well they actually showed emotion and development and oml just see it I geeked out enough 😂 Edit: if the creators somehow see this post You created something brilliant with this film, And you made Stan and Steve proud. Good Job, Spider-Verse team. Excelsior!!!
36 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Anyone can wear the mask, but no one can rock it like Miles Morales
Zephrey13 December 2018
I'm blown away, this movie is absolutely beautiful. The animation is stunning, the soundtrack is amazing and the dialogue and storyline is so heart-warming. The characters are memorable, they all bring their own emotions rubbing off on the audience, and the humor is right on, its daring and hilarious and doesn't seem forced like you might see in some of the MCU films. There's been 7 Spider-Man films in the last 16 years and this might be the best one yet, its pays its respect to the past films while driven on its own storyline adventure, being such a known character the movies still comes out as original. The cinematography and animation are gorgeous, definitely oscar worthy. I'd say this is one of the best superhero origins movies ever made. Then there's the numerous amount of easter eggs, be on the lookout for those. I can't say the movies underrated cause its be treated just as it should be, but if there's one thing that its underrated its the soundtrack, the funny thing is the soundtrack is the exact type of music Miles Morales would listen to, so I guess you could say there's a touch of realism. In the end all I can see is go see this movie for yourselves, the visual experience is amazing, its touching and serious, funny and witty, brings more emotion than some of the superhero movies you'll see today and best of all if your sick of superhero movies this is a complete different and fresh start of the genre. (Don't forget to wait till the end of the credits)
38 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Out of This Dimension Good! 100/10 off the Charts!
chriscarlisle2515 December 2018
I knew that this movie would be good from the first moment I heard about it last year, and it did not disappoint me one bit. It met all of my expectations, and then went above and beyond them. The animation is a blend of CGI, stop animation, pop/comic book art and realism. The vibrant colors pop out at you, and the action sequences really enthrall. A very captivating and beautiful piece of art is this movie, and the writing choices leave nothing to be desired. The story is that of the traditional starting superhero with a bunch of twists thrown in. The movie itself actually follows past comics for the most part, with some minor changes here and there. A true Spider-Man, or comic book fan in general, will not have anything to criticize in this movie. Everything that fans want to see out of Spidey(s) is in this movie. There are multiple different variations of Spider-Man in the film, and all of them have their special moments to shine. The end credit scene just rockets this movie up past my already positive expectations, and it gets a 10/10 from me! The movie can be enjoyed by both young and old alike, and trust me, it will blow your mind! Best animated film of 2018, and one of the best superhero movies ever made. It deserves any and all awards and kudos it will surely garner.
19 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Stop with the race agenda @ IMDB users
Thekeybaldemasterrises7 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Edit: I see a lot of people have already thumbed down this review because it sounds like people are playing the race card with this movie. "Peter Parker is the only Spider-Man!!" Look watch the movie for yourself, or don't see it at all. If you're really that bothered by a black Spider-Man in this movie then why are you here reading reviews? You still have the Rami films and heck you still have the Garfield films if that's what floats your boat. If you really care about good storytelling and good animation then hear me out. Into the Spider-Verse is the hour of redemption for Sony's animation studio. I haven't been particularly happy with their recent films ranging from endless Hotel Transylvania sequels, constant remakes of the Smurfs, and of course the god awful Emoji Movie. I kept asking myself, when Sony? When will you actually use your creative talents and give us something worth our time? And folks, this is it. This is their baby. Into the Spider-Verse is not only one of the best animated films of the year, it's one of the best Spider-Man films period. I was skeptical at first too, the high ratings, the complex story, the studio, but thankfully the reviews were right on this. What this movie does so well is how it constantly engages its audience through visual storytelling. It reflects the same methods Stan Lee/Steve Ditko used when they wrote their comic stories all those years ago. You can tell the filmmakers did their homework and really captured the comic book esthetic to a whole other level. It's colorful, it's full of amazing textures, and the action is just amazing to watch. Now if the movie solely relied on this I probably would've given it a lower rating but thankfully they wrote a nice story here. We get to finally see Miles Morales come to life and while I didn't think he had the most interesting personality compared to say Peter Parker, he worked as a vessel for the audience. We got to see his Spider-Man journey in a very unique and interesting way that feels nostalgic but fresh at the same time. I do have to add that I didn't quite feel the emotional weight in this film with Miles' character arc like I did in Tobey's Spider-Man 2, but it was still emotionally satisfying for this film on its own when you don't compare it to previous films. In the end, this was still my favorite Spider-Man movie since Spider-Man 2. It's funny, fun, and full of heart. I would be ok with Sony owning the license to Spider-Man if they kept making movies with this animation style but still carry some depth and passion in the storytelling. Because this movie honored the most endearing thing about Spider-Man's story, and it's that anyone can wear the mask. It's that universal trait that Steve Ditko and Stan Lee created all those years ago that make this character so mythological and so palpable. And this has one of Stan's best cameos yet I promise you that. If you're a Spidey fan, or just a comic fan, or even just a fan of animated films. YESSS GO SEE IT. This is my favorite animated film of the year, if not in years, and might potentially creep into my top 10 films of the year. PLEASE GO SUPPORT THIS. 9/10.
90 out of 190 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Best Spiderman movie yet hands down!
aodhanmulholland146 December 2018
What a beautiful film for Spiderman. Animation was incredible. Character depth was fantastic. Such a great story which had me glued to the screen from first minute to last. One of the funniest movies I've seen in the whole of 2018. Sony have had some misses the past few years but this movie is certainly a hit!
67 out of 145 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Spidie!
vasilis-1114 December 2018
Waited so long since the first trailer over a year ago and was not dissappointed!
18 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Who did this and what have they done with the REAL Sony
braydonmorrissey13 December 2018
This movie is brilliant. The animation is awesome, the story is really cool and compelling, and the humour is genuinely funny. How did this come from the same production company that gave us The Amazing Spider-Man movoes?
20 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent and Fun
lilman465715 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This Spidey film has been one of the best films I've seen in a long time. Comedy, tragedy, and happiness all pair well together in this film. Plus the post credit scene is worth it
11 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Spiderman movie.
bhuyanhassanul14 December 2018
You have to admit it that it is one of the best superhero movie ever made or maybe the best.You feel for the characters.Animation is spot on.Maybe it borrows from previous films that we all are familiar with.The movie might have many spiderman but Miles Morales is the hero here.You see and feel the charcater's evolution just like the live action film.The movie has its heart in right place and could well make you emotional.Just watch it.
13 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
AMAZING!!!
nguyenbakhanhbicondova14 December 2018
Not only the best superhero film of 2018 but also the best Spider-man film, and definitely one of the best superhero films ever. The animation was fantastic, the characters were great and memorable, the music was the closest to topping Guardians of the Galaxy by one of these films, the story was refreshing and well executed ( and did I mention the animation was fantastic? ). My only nitpick is that characters like Spider-man Noir and Spider-Gwen didn't really have to be there. Sure they were all solid characters but they didn't really serve any purpose in the story ( rather than maybe showing you the possibilities of the multiverse ), I'd love to see them again in future movies though.

Plus, Spider-verse was funnier than any Marvel film by far.

Go see and support this film! We need more of this stuff! Can't wait for the sequel!
20 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Refreshing!!! Watch this film.
nmn19947 December 2018
Caught the unlimited screening on the Friday and it's safe to say I will be going again! After watching every Spider-Man film to date, and tirelessly rewatching the origin story twice over (Uncle Ben), I was really torn when I seen they were releasing yet another Spider-Man film, but everything they've done with this one is perfect. It's completely set apart from all the others and gives new take on the spider-verse, if you like. Fresh story, fresh character personalities and great animation, go watch, you will not regret!
37 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An Incredible Masterpiece
jshines728114 December 2018
Stunning visuals and an engaging storyline combined to produce something amazing. This movie grips you and leaves you wanting more. I have never seen a movie quite like this before. This movie is simply an incredible masterpiece that has set the bar for animated storytelling.
16 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
As good as any movie I've ever seen.
torrerossano14 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
So, I hesitate to say that this is the best movie I have ever seen, for several reasons, but I want people to take this review seriously, so I will just say it is every bit as good as any movie I have ever seen.

I had high expectations for this movie, I love animated movies, I LOVE Spider-Man, and Jake Johnson is fantastic, and yet this movie still blew me away. The best thing I can say about this movie is that I had a smile on my face from start to finish. It was moving, relatable, funny, and the animation style may completely change the game for the entire genre.

Add in the top-notch voice acting (Chris Pine, AWESOME). I loved it, I really did. I hope you will too.
13 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Possibly the Best Spider-Man Feature Film Ever Made
kjproulx11 December 2018
Growing up, I grew an appreciation for the character of Spider-Man that I've never been able to develop for any other comic book character. It was Sam Raimi's original live-action trilogy that hooked me and had me scrounging for more. Watching countless episodes of every cartoon iteration, and even starting to read a few of the comics, I found myself becoming a huge fan of this generational icon. Once Spider-Man 3 hit theatres, the character had lost all hope on the big screen, until Andrew Garfield took the role from Tobey Maguire, which didn't last too long, and also crashed and burned. Finally, he found his footing in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, played by Tom Holland, but none of that matters when watching Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse. Not only is this the best that this character has been in a while, but I believe there's a real argument to made that this is possibly the greatest feature-length film based on this character, period.

In this film, which is loosely based off of storylines that are very similar to how this movie plays out, Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse follows Miles Morales as he's bitten by a radioactive spider and develops the same (and more) powers as his hero, Spider-Man. After an event opens a portal, it's revealed that his universe isn't the only one. There are endless dimensions out there with parallel characters and creatures, all with similar backstories. From Spider-Gwen to Spider-Ham, this film explores the classics as well as the bizarre, which I fear will probably turn off some average moviegoers who haven't experienced these characters yet, but if you can't embrace a film like that, it's probably not for you anyways.

From the very first teaser trailer, I was very intrigued by the look of this film and how different it looked from most animated films out there today. With only a couple of notable films in Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs and Arthur Christmas, Sony Pictures hasn't had the best track record in terms of releasing animated movies theatrically. Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse has given new life to that notion, because this isn't only the best they've ever produced in my opinion, but it's the best animated movie that has come out all year. The unique style leaps off the screen and made me find another layer to love, on top of the fantastic storyline and characters surrounding it.

Yes, the origin story of Peter Parker is the one that everyone knows. That is very much present here again, and nearly every one of these characters share similar backgrounds, but it feels as though the filmmakers expect the audience to be in on the joke of that. This movie is very meta at times, and it works very well if you're invested in the movie as a whole. At the emotional core of this movie is how these characters differ from one another and how certain circumstances can be worse than others. There are some fantastic life lessons to be learned by children here, and for that, I only loved this movie even more.

In the end, Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse impressed me on many levels. It gives you the Spider-Man action that you've come to expect from this character, as well as giving new life to it. The character of Miles Morales has just as many layers to his story as the classic Peter Parker one, but the inclusion of each one of the side characters here fleshes him out even more. This is one of the best superhero origin stories I've seen on the big screen in years. Filled with heart, emotion, plenty of action, and eye-candy as far as the eye can see, Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse is one of my favourite films of the year.
24 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
THE BEST SPIDERMAN FILM EVER!
rjchuk6 December 2018
Exactly the comics on the big screen paying homage to all that came before and the creators of a amazing character. Easily the best Spiderman film ever made.
36 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent movie, the movie is make in the same way as the chronicles of Narnia and Monsters INC.
sorlando-1523914 December 2018
This mean that the story is original and It is created with a new project. Congratulacions, with an Excellent new project.
10 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed