Dumplin' (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
84 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Lovely film
stasiakoroleva7 December 2018
Really surprised at how much I enjoyed this film. Most Netflix movies are cheesy and predictable, but this one is truly heartwarming. The story is great and the dialogue feels natural. Dolly Partons songs are a real highlight as well, and the message is delivered organically in stead of being shoved down your throat. I would recommend this for a nice Friday film night.
51 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
warm and perfect
amcedelstein8 December 2018
"Find out who you are and do it on purpose" - Dolly Parton

Damn, Julie Murphy. You wrote every fat girls story. I knew this going into the movie tonight, this cold December night I tucked myself into bed with a box of tissues, some pizza, and my cat. I was prepared. Ready to experience one of my favorite books on the "big screen", not to mention all the Dolly and Jennifer Aniston my heart desired. Well, Julie, I cried the entire time, mission accomplished, job well done. The movie is as bright, delicious, and strong as the book, with a little extra sparkle and zhuzh.

I hope everyone out there takes a minute to think about the fat girl inside of yourself, whatever that means, and think about fondly wishing her luck on her mission to finding out who she is on purpose.
36 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It you want warm feel good vibes this is perfect
senseofsight189 December 2018
Full disclosure, I have not read the book so I saw the movie with virgin eyes and zero expectations. If you're looking for a deep, insightful comedy drama with a bunch of existential messages this is not the movie for you. If you're looking for warm and fuzzy feelings mixed with some sass and charm I recommend this movie. My belly didn't ache from laughing, but my mouth did hurt from smiling so much. If you watch enough movies and TV they all become predictable, but that doesn't have to take away from your enjoyment or the message of self love that this movie leans on. So found a comfy spot on the couch, grab some tea, and let the positive vibes flow.
16 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great movie, great message!
mike-684157 December 2018
This movie really conveyed a positive message. Love yourself for who u are. The acting was great and it was done in a way that was not preachy! I think any of us with self esteem issues should see it.
30 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Definitely worth.
mikipopi-059148 December 2018
I didn't really expect much when I turned on this movie on Netflix tonight, but I just feel really positive after watching it. It shows that you don't have to be like the people expect you to be. I was kinda worried that it will be just a stupid comedy (Aniston), but even she did a great job in this movie. Oh, and the guy from Lost is a drag queen. Just perfect. Really worth your time.
18 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good, but not like the book
ramsayreader7 December 2018
The movie is a good, heartlifting movie with good music and enjoyable characters. Unfortunately it leaves out a lot of major characters and a lot of the book plot. If you haven't read the book you will like it even more, irregardless it is worth the watch.
24 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Touching, Sweet, Heartwarming - I just feel good.
SamiCakes8 December 2018
What a beautiful movie. In a nutshell - I laughed, I cried, I aww'd (a lot lol), and this was exactly what the doctor ordered. I really, thoroughly enjoyed this movie and I think anyone who appreciates a well-rounded, well-acted, heartwarming and bottomline human story, will enjoy this. Furthermore, Danielle Macdonald (the actress who plays "Dumplin'), was absolutely fantastic in this, as well as Jennifer Aniston who I think has really come into her own and found her comfort zone when it comes to acting - she seems to just easily play "right," if that makes sense. And lastly, the music throughout was such a delight - Dolly Parton is an amazing talent and this movie makes you appreciate that and her, so much more. Just wonderful.
18 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not quite what I hoped for.
TalulaGrey8 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I thought that I'd be okay with Danielle Macdonald playing a high-schooler named Willowdean, but my god she's 27 and looks to be 35. There is conflict in this film but it's all surface and we never get deeper into it. Jennifer Aniston plays the mom and she's good in her role. We don't get to see the mother-daughter conflict from both sides. Willowdean keeps telling us that her mom doesn't like/love her because she didn't turn out the way her mom wanted but, that is not what we see.

I did enjoy the drag queens and the Dolly Parton. I especially liked Maddie Baillio who plays Millie Michalchuk; she was funny, sweet, and charming.

Overall, this is a solid 5 out of 10.
17 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great movie
maluokram8 December 2018
This movie is really inspiring. It will give you a hope. Jennifer Aniston is amazing the whole cast is amazing. This movie deserves everything.
12 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Simply Beautiful
iffyrafiq9 December 2018
I really wasn't sure if this was going to be a comedy or just serious film, but I truly loved the story from start to finish. The way the characters were portrayed was so beautiful and from a fat persons viewpoint it made me cry, as people do not yet realise beauty is not skin deep its what's within the heart. For a world obsessed with vanity this film truly stands out and in many a moment it makes you believe that that things can be different. Superb film!!
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I loved this!!!!
teresa_cass8 December 2018
Loved every second of this surprisingly warm and funny movie with a BIG message. I thought it would be good with its Dolly Parton songs and music but it was even better than that.
12 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Predictable and cardboard acting
wheelers-88 December 2018
I had high hopes that this movie would offer something different but it was formulaic and predictable. I lost interest halfway through and started playing games on my iPad. Yawn.
21 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Misses the mark
singe5949 December 2018
Generic and every "deep" moment seems so superficial and unearned.
14 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Feel Good Movie of the Year
zack_gideon8 December 2018
Not a Dolly Parton fan and wasn't familiar with the book, but this movie is just happy and uplifting. In today's negative news cycle of garbage, something like this is a ray of hope. This film spits in the face of stereotypes and hatred. It's all about LOVE. Thanks Netflix!
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Disappointed
bef19917 December 2018
There was such hype about this movie and I love both Jennifer Aniston and Dolly Parton but I was so let down. The dialogue was very bland. I expected the story to be predictable but was hoping the actor's lines would inject life into it but sadly it didn't. Frankly the best part of the movie was Dolly Parton's music and little else.
22 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Whatever Haters
tbyrd-500889 December 2018
Is the movie an Oscar contender? No, but who cares. The movie has a great message and it's fun. I enjoyed the movie from beginning to end. All you naysayers and haters, get some joy in your life and be entertained without tearing down. It's a movie for teens to learn the value of understanding who you are and living your best you. Something us 40 somethings need to be remind of too!
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love Dolly Dumplin'
rmckenzie7478 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
A great movie about a girl who likes a boy, gets the boy and sometimes dreams come true (the dreams you didn't even know you wanted). Love love love! Ginger Minj is Awesome! Dolly Parton is a girls dream come true! Surprised by how good Jennifer Anniston is.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Super Cute
wooferbearatl8 December 2018
Oh my goodness! What a great little feel good movie. You can't possibly walk away from it without feeling good, smiling, cheering and laughing.
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely brilliant
paulinehilary8 December 2018
Great wee feel good movie. Cried the whole way through. Jennifer Aniston with a Dolly Parton soundtrack. What more could I ask for on a Sunday afternoon. Absolutely loved this.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not worth it..
BatmanFunReviews20187 December 2018
The message is there as long as it counts in order to say something positive about Dumplin' but it's also quite slow and even cheesy at times to be honest. Plus the acting wasn't very much impressive either really so yeah definitely something to avoid really.
30 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Dolly connection - very little. Subpar Dramedy
wfairfan8 December 2018
Big fan of Ms Parton and Ms Aniston. Their pre-release interviews were far more entertaining than this mediocre film. It's sort of like a southern style ABC After School special. Minus the specialness.
16 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad message!!
vixter-1336711 December 2018
Acting was awful, not even Jennifer Aniston could have saved this atrocity. The message in this film is what really annoys me! Yes we are beautiful and all different sizes but obesity is a health problem! End of story!! I'm sick and tired of it being glorified in movies! No different than showing a young girl with bulimia/ anorexia and accepting it! I thought this movie would have been inspiring, it wasn't, it was depressing, sad and unrealistic! Couldn't even finish watching it, because it was so bad!!
10 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
The worst movie I've seen in awhile
dawnlscherer7 December 2018
Most Netflix movies are really mediocre, but this one is so bad it is making me a little angry. I've been shouting at the tv like a crazy person and I'm on my 26th eye roll. Dumplin' is so forced and artificially sentimental. It attempts to be heartwarming and profound, but just keeps falling flat on its stupid face. I do not understand why Jennifer Aniston would have taken this role. I may write her next.
28 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Heartwarming but unoriginal
thweattr8 December 2018
It's hard to dislike the movie with the message they're delivering. However, it felt like a worse Hairspray. You can't miss the message in this movie as the writers stuffed it down your throat as much as they possible could however they weren't creative in their delivery and had the actors force it into dialogue in a played out way. But like I said it's heartwarming nonetheless in your typical feel good predictable kind of way.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Garbage again from Netflix
petera008 December 2018
I really thought this movie was gonna be funny but all it is is another Netflix attempt at showing how bullying is bad and it's ok to be a victim.... I'm so tired of these I'm this way and I'm special type movies that Netflix continues to release.... I'd hate to say it but please bring back the stupid bro party comedy movies.... Even if you put a girl in it and she's happy and not a loveable loser.
17 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed